Project Recipe Book: Shortbread Cookies

PRBCCAd_JBrisebois600

Thanks to a childhood filled with memories of my mom’s Christmas cookies and Martha Stewart’s fabulous collection of holiday recipes I discovered as a newlywed, these little treats have become the go-to dessert of the Christmas season in my household.  I’ve added three of my favourite cookie recipes to my Recipe Book and over the next few days I’ll share these with you. 🙂

Lightly crunchy on the outside and flaky soft on the inside, Martha’s shortbread was the first cookie recipe I tried from her collection.  With a few tiny adjustments I’ve made over the years, this cookie has become my most favourite of the bunch.  With only four ingredients, these shortbread cookies are really easy to make (plus a wonderful nod to my Scottish heritage).

(The shortbread recipe closest to the original I printed out years ago on Martha Stewart’s website is here.)

Shortbread_JBrisebois600web

Shortbread Cookies

(makes 10-12 wedges)

Ingredients:

INGRCC1_JBrisebois600

1 cup of butter (room temperature) + a little more to grease the pie pan
1/2 cup of granulated white sugar
2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Instructions:

preheat oven to 320F
grease a standard sized round pie pan
add butter to a large bowl and mix with an electric mixer for 3-5 minutes
add sugar and continue to mix until light & fluffy (a few minutes more)
mix in vanilla, then flour and mix on low until just combined and the dough sticks together

pat dough evenly into the pie pan
cut 10-12 equal sized wedges into the dough
prick a pattern along each wedge with a fork

bake for 50-60 minutes until shortbread is firm to the touch and lightly toasted on top
re-score the wedges, then let cool (I leave the cookies to cool right in the pan)

serve at room temperature

For all of the Christmas Cookies recipe pages in this blog series I used two products from my shoppe:

You can grab the Noël Painted Shapes + Outlines Element Pack here for 50% off (that’s only $1 – this week only)!  Pick up the 12 Days Paper Pack right here.

See you back here tomorrow for another cookie recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

