Project Recipe Book: Jam Sandwich Butter Cookies

PRBCCAd_JBrisebois600

Today’s recipe, the last of my Christmas cookies recipe trifecta, holds a very special place in my heart, as I have eaten these for breakfast for the past three days.  My objective, of course, is to conserve cereal so we do not run out over the Christmas holidays.  A noble sacrifice on my part, I know. 😉

(This is another older recipe out of my kitchen drawer that may also be a Martha Stewart recipe, but I couldn’t find it on her site – no link until I find where it came from.)

JamSandwich_JBrisebois600web2

Ingredients:

(makes just under 2 dozen assembled cookies, depending on the size of your cookie cutter)

INGRCC3_JBrisebois600

1 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour
3/4 cup of butter (room temperature)
3/4 cup of powdered sugar (plus more for dusting)
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon of juice from an orange
zest of one small orange (or to taste)

3/4 cup of homemade raspberry jam

Instructions:

mix butter with an electric mixer until fluffy (about 2 minutes)
add sugar and mix until smooth
mix in egg, then add flour and mix on low until just combined
wrap dough in plastic and refrigerate for 3 hours

preheat oven to 350F
roll out dough to about 1/4 inch thickness on a lightly floured surface
using a circle shaped cookie cutter cut out equal numbers of top (with window hole) and bottom (solid) layers
bake on baking sheets lined with parchment paper for no more than 10 minutes
cool cookies on wire rack

once cookies are completely cooled, assemble cookies with a thin layer of jam in the center, then dust each with powdered sugar

A Quick Tip:

The original recipe for this dough did not include the orange juice, so with a little trial & error, I increased the flour level to accommodate this.  I must confess, I’m not always careful to measure out the the vanilla extract or the orange juice (I have been known to use the pour-from-the-jug/squeeze-right-into-the-bowl-method).  If the dough is overly sticky, mix in a little more flour and powdered sugar.  Refrigerating the dough also helps to reduce the stickiness and makes the dough easier to roll out.

For all of the Christmas Cookies recipe pages in this blog series I used two products from my shoppe:

You can grab the Noël Painted Shapes + Outlines Element Pack here for 50% off (that’s only $1 – this week only)!  Pick up the 12 Days Paper Pack right here.

I’ll be back with more recipes in the coming weeks, but until then I wish all of you a wonderful Holiday and a Happy New Year! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

