My Valentine’s Day Cards (2016)

600_VDCChallengeAdJBrisebois

My Valentine’s Day card & layout challenge is in full swing over at Oscraps!  Check out my gallery here to see all the incredibly creative and inspiring cards and layouts that have been submitted over this past week.  From vintage, to artistic, to adorable, to humorous, these cards have had me laughing and awing all week long – they are seriously awesome.  Thank you everyone who has joined this challenge so far!

After creating this little mini book giftie for my husband for this Valentine’s Day, I was inspired to create two simple cards that both of my kiddos could give out to our family.  Here’s what I came up with:

ValDayCard2WM_JBrisebois600

For my daughter’s card, I had her stand against an off white wall and pose as if she were blowing over her hand.  Once I had the photo, I did a little Photoshop tweaking for light and colour, added the hearts doodle, fussed a while about the final colour for that doodle lol, then added the font and I was done (in less than 10 minutes – sweet).

ValDayCard1WM_JBrisebois600

For my son’s card, I had him stand against the same off white wall and hold out his hand as if he were holding a balloon.  I didn’t care for the floor showing, so I ended up extracting him from the photo and then blended that extraction into a cleaned up photo I had taken of the wall on it’s own.  I went through the same steps that I used for my daughter’s card – tweaking, fussing about colour, adding the font – a little more work and time for this card, but I love the results!

I also converted both cards into layouts that I added to an 8×8 album I use to collect all of my random layouts.

ValDayL1WM_JBrisebois600

ValDayL2WM_JBrisebois600

For the projects in this blog post I used these products from my shoppe:

JBriseboisITLTPDEPack6002

You can grab the It’s the Little Things: Photo Doodles here for FREE this month (it’s part of this month’s Digiscrap Parade)!

Pick up the Little Wish Papers here and the Still Life Collection: 12×12 Color Painted Overlays Element Pack right here.

I’m also having a 30% off sale on Valentine’s Day themed packs in the Seasonal category in my shoppe 🙂

AdSaleVD_JBrisebois600

Grab the freebie and then join me for the final week of my challenge here! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

