Retro Recipe: Elvis Inspired

RRR_JBrisebois600.jpg

No retro inspired album can ever be complete without a retro inspired recipe. 🙂

A few months ago while I was putting together my Christmas album, tucked amongst the family photos and memories I also included the recipe to a mid-century influenced marshmallow salad I had made for our Elf Yourself Christmas family gathering. Sweet, fruity and totally elf friendly, this recipe was something I wanted to have on hand the next time we all had the overwhelming urge to dress up like Santa’s little helpers. Once I had this album printed up into a photo book, one thing became very obvious.  Just like family = food, family albums need recipes.

ElfSalad_JBrisebois600

That recipe page from my Christmas 2015 album.

 

All this month I have been working on a retro inspired album celebrating the 2012 mini trip my husband and I took to Las Vegas to commemorate our 10th anniversary.  As I was sitting down to scrap our faux Elvis lead vow renewal it was an easy decision to include an Elvis inspired recipe in this album.

A quick online search turned up several variations of one of Elvis’ most famous and well documented favorites, the Peanut Butter & Banana Fried Sandwich.  I had often made the un-fried version of this sandwich over the years, most notably during both of my pregnancies when my aversion to meat, but craving for protein gave me an almost daily dose of this sandwich.

I must admit, the amount of butter required in the original recipe had every sensible cell in my body screaming out dude, don’t do it, so right from the get-go I had to reduce the butter (please, no hate mail).  By the third round, the butter was down to what I believe is a reasonable balance of good and evil.  If you don’t already have your own variation of this fried delight, this slightly tamer version might be a good place to start.

EvisPBB_JBrisebois600

Elvis Inspired Peanut Butter & Banana Sandwiches

(makes 2 sandwiches)

Ingredients

ERIng_JBrisebois600

1 medium sized banana
2 tablespoons of peanut butter
4 slices of white bread
2 tablespoons of butter

Instructions

On medium heat, melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a frying pan
Lightly toast all of the bread slices in a toaster
Mash banana until creamy, then combine with peanut butter
Spread half of the mixture evenly on a slice of toasted bread
Top with a plain slice of toasted bread
Fry both sides of the sandwich until lightly toasted, then remove from heat
Melt second tablespoon of butter in pan & repeat this process for the second sandwich

For the recipe layout in this post I used two products from my shoppe:

Pick up the Estate Sale Collection: Some Assembly Required 12×12 Overlays Vol 1 here and the Still Life Collection: White Space 12×12 Album here.

I am just a few pages away from finishing the first draft of my Las Vegas album and hope to start adding the journaling and a few more splashes of colour in the next week or so.  You can always check on the progress of this album in my gallery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

